Skip to content

Workout Buddy

April 28, 2010

Working out with friends is fun. It provides a distraction from the workout and usually can keep me going for longer since I don’t want to let my partner down. My problem is that I love working out in the morning. My schedule this semester has me not in the classroom before noon every day so I have plenty of time to wake up and get ready to start my day! My friends? Not so much.

So who is my routine workout buddy? During times like now when I have lots of finals, it’s my study guides! This afternoon I had a test at 12:20 in my, ironically enough, Health Benefits of Exercise class. So I headed to the gym with my study guide in hand and sweat it out on the ARC trainer for 45 minutes while reading over my study guide non-stop.

Just replace the TV with a packet of notes and you got me!

This method has proved to work for me over this past semester and is my go-to routine every morning before I have a test. Funnily enough, just last week, my teacher for my Health Benefits of Exercise class was telling us about a new study that found that people retain information better immediately after working out. They’re even thinking about putting a study room in our Wellness Center where people could go and study right after they get done with a workout! How cool would that be?

Question: Do you ever bring schoolwork to the gym with you? What’s your favorite way to get ready for a test?

One Comment leave one →
  1. Katherine: What About Summer? permalink
    April 28, 2010 8:00 pm

    I usually like working out alone more, but always read books while doing the elliptical for cardio. I can’t get actual work done but I can read fiction novels all day long.
    Katherine

Leave a Reply

