Skip to content

Find Time to Celebrate!

May 5, 2010

¡Feliz Cinco de Mayo!

Cinco de Mayo has always been one of my favorite holidays, mainly because my grandma is 100 percent Mexican so I can use it as an excuse to bring out my inner-señorita! Fortunately for me, I don’t need this holiday to indulge in Mexican food, since we do that quite often in my household but nevertheless, I just love the culture and everyone coming together and feeling the spirit!

Since coming to college, the day always falls during finals. No bueno.

Even so, my number one rule is to always celebrate somehow. Tonight my celebrations only got as far as eating a taco salad, but hey, it’s the thought that counts and it really did brighten up my monotonous studying. So although my Cinco de Mayo wasn’t quite able to take me back to my favorite days in Mexico this year…

Baila!

It’s always important to remember where you came from and celebrate whenever and however possible!

Question: What’s your favorite holiday? Do you do anything special during the year to celebrate your heritage?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

