Skip to content

Who needs men?

May 21, 2010

Sorry it’s been so long since I’ve written. I was busy wrapping up life in the 305 to head back to the 303 where I’ll be for two weeks before beginning my big journey in NYC! Even though me and the roomies are staying in the same house next year, we still had the big task of re-doing our living room before we left for the summer! Unfortunately, the idea was a lot more pleasant than the actual work. First step? A fresh coat of paint!

The painting took one night and a day but then it was all done and looked like a brand new room! Then came the furniture… We had to get rid of a dining room table with six chairs, three futons, a book shelf, a TV, and TV stand. Let me tell you this was not easy. For better or for worse, we recruited our poor landlord into helping us and he didn’t know what he signed up for. Eventually that got done, and then came getting the new furniture from an apartment (on the 9th floor!) in an area nearby. After all was said and done, we got everything in and our house feels completely different, in the best way possible.

Although the process lasted about five exhausting days, at the end of it all, it feels absolutely amazing. I love our new room and I really feel accomplished. This was the first big home remodeling I have ever taken on by myself (or should I say, without a dad to help us along the way)! Although at the time we hated it, I definitely appreciate this room a lot more knowing that us little ladies did it all on our own! So anytime you think that you need a big man to move some furniture, paint a house, or drive a truck, I say man up and know that you are just as capable!

Question: Have you ever taken on a something bigger than yourself but felt so great once it was done?

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 21, 2010 1:51 am

    thanks for the comment!! in regards to trader joes, go for the almond butter, almond milk, oreos, dried fruits, and anything frozen…especially the Indian and Chinese meals 🙂

    xoxo
    lolo

Leave a Reply

